International Symposium on Data Assimilation 2018

Breadcrumb Navigation


6th International Symposium on Data Assimilation (2018)

5 - 9 March 2018, Munich, Germany


The next International Symposium on Data Assimilation (ISDA) will be held at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich and continues a series of well received events: ISDA2016 in Reading, ISDA2015 in Kobe, ISDA2014 in Munich and the first two symposia at DWD in Offenbach. The symposium is open for oral and poster contributions in various fields of atmospheric data assimilation and ensemble prediction.

Presentation and poster files can now be found in the program section!

Data assimilation is at an exciting stage with models moving to higher resolution, a trend towards coupled modelling systems and increased efforts on the assimilation of observations related to clouds and precipitation as well as chemical substances. Fundamental progress is required in

  • Dealing with the multi-scale nature of forecast errors associated with clouds and precipitation
  • Dealing with non-Gaussian uncertainties in both the forecast and the observations
  • Dealing with the highly non-linear mapping from model to observation space

The International Symposium on Data Assimilation provides a forum to present and discuss new results on these and other challenges across a broad range of sessions:

Session topics

Convective-scale data assimilation

Radar data assimilation and nowcasting

Assimilation of cloud-affected satellite observations

Advances in methodology and non-Gaussian approaches

Observation impact and observing strategies

Representation of model error and parameter estimation

Ensemble forecasting and predictability

Data assimilation for land-surface processes and coupled models

Chemical data assimilation and inverse modelling

Organizing Committee

Martin Weissmann
Roland Potthast
Tijana Janjic-Pfander
George Craig

Science Committee

Craig Bishop
Massimo Bonavita
Mark Buehner
Carla Cardinali
Hendrik Elbern
Daryl Kleist
Christina Köpken-Watts
Daniel Leuenberger
Takemasa Miyoshi
Sebastian Reich
Annika Schomburg
Craig Schwartz
Jenny Sun
Peter Jan Van Leeuwen
Fuqing Zhang

Travel support (up to 500 Euros per person) will be provided to selected young scientists. Details on the application procedure could be found here.